Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards returning to Llanelli on February 2nd 2018! PDF Print E-mail
Written by Nathan Jones   
Tuesday, 02 January 2018 08:28

A host of Carmarthenshire's top sporting talents have been nominated and shortlisted for this year's Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards. Thirty seven of the county's best are up for 13 awards to be announced at a gala evening in February at Llanelli. The awards are organised by Carmarthenshire County's Sport and Leisure team.

The annual Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards recognise the sporting achievements and successes of individuals, sports clubs, school teams as well as acknowledging the contribution made by dedicated coaches and hardworking volunteers who really make a difference through sport and to our communities. Some of these represent their sport on a local, national or even international level and the event recognises those people.

The awards give local people the opportunity to honour sporting stars and unsung heroes who keep their clubs on the go. Nominations have been open over the past few months for the public to nominate their coach, athlete and volunteer before the panel have had the hard job of cutting each category down to three shortlisted people or groups to attend the awards evening.

A well as the sports personality of the year, the categories include young sportsman and sportswoman, disabled sportsman and sportswoman, sports coach, sports volunteer, team of the year, young team of the year, community sports coach, high performance coach and the Ryan Jones Memorial Award for outstanding services to sport.

The year's full house welcomes main sponsor Owens Group and Media partners Radio Carmarthenshire.

The winners for each category will be revealed at the Actif Carmarthenshire Sport Award ceremony at the Ffwrnes Theatre, Llanelli on Friday 2nd February 2018.


Image result for carmarthenshire sports personality




Sport Personality of the Year Finalists: Joshua Griffiths (Athletics); Scott Davies (Cycling); Jonathan Davies (Rugby)

Young Sportswoman of the Year Finalists: Sioned Thomas (Gymnastics); Ella Barnwell (Cycling); Niamh Roberts (Athletics)

Young Sportsman of the Year Finalists: Morgan Griffiths (Kick Boxing); Ifan Knott (Football and Cricket); Ben Thomas (Cross Country and Athletics)

Disabled Sportsman of the Year Finalists: Oliver Griffith-Salter (Basketball); Michael Beynon (Athletics); John Andrew Hayes (Athletics)

Disabled Sportswoman of the Year Finalists: Gwenda Humphreys (Archery); Tyler Charleston (Skiing Slalom and Giant Slalom); Lauren Larkin (Rhythmic Gymnastics)


High Performance Sports Coach of the Year Finalists: Carol Sargeant (Gymnastics); Wayne Pivac (Rugby); Rhian Davies (Netball)

Community Sports Coach of the Year Finalists: Mark Jenkins (Football); Jenny Jones (Squash); Nico Setaro (Rugby)


Sports Volunteer of the Year Finalists: Steve Percy (Cycling); Mari-Ann Jones (Netball); Marc Jones (Rugby)

Young Sports Volunteer of the Year Finalists: Joshua Boyce (Bowls); Jessica Thomas (Hockey); Sion Thomas (Football)


Team of the Year Finalists: Amman United RFC; Carmarthen Wanderers Cricket Club; Scarlets

Young Team of the Year Finalists: Carmarthen Wanderers Cricket Club; Tim Pel Rwyd Parc Y Tywyn; Dyffryn Aman 7's Rugby

The Ryan Jones Memorial Award for Outstanding Services to Sport Finalists: Tudur Thomas (Cycling); David Davies (Boxing); Christopher Jones


No automatic alt text available.